Dr. Jack Walther Leadership Award

2017 Recipients


Name Institution
Maggie Thompson Auburn University
Cindy Vaca Colorado State University
Ariana Boltax Cornell University
Janelle Lum Iowa State University
Maxwell Beal Kansas State University
Kelsey Salsbury Louisiana State University
Brianna Gruber Maple Woods Community College (Technician)
Jennifer Fletcher Maple Woods Community College (Technician)
William Jumper Mississippi State University
Kristen Malinak North Carolina State University
Kaitlyn Belanger Oklahoma State University
Nicole White Oregon State University
Janet Roque Torres Purdue University
Caitlin Conner Texas A&M University
Alec Repasy The Ohio State University
Justina Bartling Tufts University
Shakera Fudge Tuskegee University
Philippe Chagnon Larose Université de Montreal
Mackenzie Ruehl University of California – Davis
Denae Campanale University of Florida
Kaitlin Iulo University of Georgia
Stipe Vicente Jelovcic University of Guelph
Joseph Cacioppo University of Illinois
Ariel Carlson University of Minnesota
Carissa Nicole Cruz University of Missouri
Tara Stonex University of Pennsylvania
Samantha Wong University of Prince Edward Island
Tim Donihee University of Saskatchewan
Marston Jones University of Tennessee
Samuel Emmerich University of Wisconsin
Adrienne Bush VA-MD Reg. College of Vet Med
Nick Larson Washington State University
Laura Philbin Western University of Health Sciences


WVC is proud to present the Dr. Jack Walther Leadership Award, recognizing veterinary students who portray leadership and promote a lifelong service to the profession. This annual award is bestowed upon 33 DVM Students from various universities, who are actively involved and show long-term leadership potential. Additionally, two Veterinary Technician students are selected to receive the Award via NAVTA. Please see below for requirements to be considered for this Award. Contact WVC at 866.800.7326 with questions.


  • Applications are accepted from third year veterinary students attending accredited North American universities and colleges and fourth year veterinary students attending the Université de Montréal Faculté de Médecine Vétérinaire.
  • Recipients receive a $1,000 award, complimentary registration, lodging, airfare, and a daily stipend to attend the 2018 WVC Annual Conference in Las Vegas, Nevada on March 4-8, 2018.
  • Students must be able to attend the WVC Annual Conference to receive the award as a third year student.
  • Each award recipient is also entitled to one additional complimentary registration to a future WVC Annual Conference to be utilized within five years following graduation from veterinary school.

Important Dates

  • Begin applying online – September 18, 2017
  • Applications are due – October 31, 2017
  • Recipients will be announced – December 4, 2017
  • WVC Annual Conference – March 4-8, 2018

Download the flyer.